sally730 - Birmingham, United Kingdom
Lovely place, wonderful staff - Jan 12, 2019
This Riad is absolutely beautiful. Halima keeps the rooms very clean, with toiletries, toilet rolls et cetera topped up every day. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, Zakariya and Muhammad will help in any way they can. The breakfasts are lovely, and always servtwith a smile. The staff also really helped when I had an upset stomach, giving me thyme tea. They were also very understanding and helpful at 4am, when I had to leave for the airport, even making me a breakfast sandwich at that time! Thank you« less

   taracM7113YE -
Amazing Food and Atmosphere - Jan 7, 2019
Wonderful food, with a great atmosphere Enjoyed the music in the main area. So peaceful! Chef was super friendly and shared his special hot sauce with us. Would love to come back in the warmer months to swim in the pool. I wished I had more time to enjoy the spa.riadelaminefes, Responsable réception at Riad el Amine Fes, responded to this review Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Riad EL Amine Fès . We were very glad to meet you and we hope that you enjoyed your stay with us .Best regards « less

   mbot9199 -
Magical stay, staff went above and beyond! - Jan 2, 2019
We had an incredible stay at El Amine after being unexpectedly moved over from another Riad that was overbooked. We felt right at home from the moment we arrived, thanks to the incredible staff. The Riad is incredibly beautiful and has been in the family for several generations - this is why it must feel so homey. The food is delicious and we were lucky enough to do a cooking class with Chef Assou while visiting. Out of over two weeks of travel throughout the country of Morocco, our stay at El Amine was hands down the most memorable - we got an incredible taste of local Moroccan culture and hospitality. The management and staff were incredibly dedicated to us having the best experience possible, went above and beyond at each turn, and the location was ideal - close enough to the Medina for convenience sake but enough distance that you have peace and quiet, and the comforts of a very local feeling stay. We can't wait to return and consider El Amine our second home!riadelaminefes, Responsable relations clients at Riad el Amine Fes, responded to this review Dear mbot9199, I would like to express my gratitude for your kind words and I am truly delighted to know you enjoyed our hospitality. Your experience is one that we hope all guests receive when visiting us. I will pass on your kind comments to the team.Thank you very much for leaving this wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future.Yours sincerely, « less

   Jacqui G - Brisbane, Australia
Dissapointed - Dec 21, 2018
We had a lovely room but it was very dark there were roof work going on during the day so it was noisy and we were not offered any compensation for this I left two hats in the room and contacted the staff at the hotel at first they said the hats weren’t there but after many emails They found them And then I asked for them to send them to me and I would pay for the postage there was no answer! I have written over and over and no answer Very disappointingriadelaminefes, Responsable réception at Riad el Amine Fes, responded to this review Dear Miss Jacqui, First we would like to thank you for choosing Riad El Amine for your stay. We would like to apologize about the noise in the terrace, as you probably know, during your stay we were renovating our rooftop and expanding the Riad. We would like to apologize for our late response . As we have previously mentioned on our mail, there was a communication problem in our team and we did not know until a few days later that your hats were here. We have went to the post to send you the hats to Australia but you said that it was too expensive . Unfortunately the regular mail in morocco do not send these kind of packages for a lower price. Best regards « less

   U6303OAbarbaran -
Mixed feelings - Dec 9, 2018
We left the Riad El Amine Fès with mixed feelings, not quite sure what to think of it. It's hard to explain, and to sum our confusion up, one could put it best as: it's all in the small things. The positive: We've booked the sultan room and the room itself was seriously and honestly stunning: high ceiling with a wonderful decoration (5 Stars), so was the overall impression of the dining rooms, the courtyard, etc. but then there was a certain smell coming from the bathroom and it was pretty clear that it could do with a bit of plumbing there (4 Stars). Also in contrast to all other (and cheaper) hotels during our stay in Morocco, Water wasn't provided in the room, I had to buy it from the fridge, and underneath the expensive looking table clothes, cheap camping tables were featured in the dining rooms (3 Stars). Unfortunately the last impression is the lasting one and here it wasn't the best. I was so baffled that I couldn't even say something and left the hotel with a (fake) smile. When packing for the check out we received a call reminding us to pay for the dinner at arrival. We were aware of this and being a super honest person, this call felt like an insult, as if we could "escape unnoticed" with our suitcases and backpacks and whatnot... obviously we paid (and we would have paid without the call), but I was shocked when I saw the bill. I did expect it to be higher than in a restaurant, even double. We had an assortment of Moroccan salads and two Tangines and a small bottle of wine. In restaurants we would pay anything from 10 - 20 Euros for this (without the wine), but we were charged 80 Euro and even with the wine, it doesn't justify the price. I wouldn't even mind if it tasted just exceptional. But it was "good" and sorry to say, nothing special. Our fault, we should have asked in advance, lesson learned. (so we are down to 2 Stars). The one thing though which was outstanding was the service, I'm not talking about the managers, because even though friendly, I had the feeling that the money from the guests was more important to them than the guests themselves, but the young man handling the check in and breakfast. He took a honest interest in us, was always friendly, gave good advice and made us feel welcome in a city that all in all felt a little bit hostile to us (thank you for this, you've just recovered one star for your hotel).riadelaminefes, Responsable réception at Riad el Amine Fes, responded to this review Thank you for sharing your experience at Riad El Amine Fès. We are sorry to see that you have not enjoyed you stay at our property. Regarding our prices of the restaurant they are very different than what you can find outside in the medina , we do not serve the same food quality , everything is fresh and homemade. We would like to apologize if you did not have a nice stay with us, this doesn't we always try too our best for our guest to have a nice memory . Best regards « less