Olive M - Kilkenny, Ireland
Very disappointed - Apr 19, 2019
I don't like leaving bad reviews but they are supposed to be there to help other travelersAfter arriving at the airport nobody from this property was there to pick us up, eventually we arrived to the property and after going through all formalities we were shown to our room, Adrar Double Room, I can only say it is not as described online, it is extremely small, it lists in the room facilities that it has a safety deposit box, it's hypoallergenic, it had listed there was a tv and mini bar also in the room, (which has since been changed) the last two didn't really bother us as we wouldn't have been in the room that much anyway but the room itself was very smelly, very little space to put anything, there was hair in the bed, a very narrow curtain that was separating the bed and shower had a big stain on it, the electrics in the shower room were bare, no covers and the fan above was what can only be described as furry!, after complaining and a lot of phone calls to someone who could speak to us I got clean bed linen, only to have one of the pillowcases with a big hole in it, all we could do in the end was look for somewhere else and we were very lucky to find somewhere that was clean, bright and even cheaper that this one, I don't like leaving bad reviews but this property really needs a good clean to say the leastbrigitte z, Owner at Riad Dar Beija, responded to this review After reading your review, I went to see your profile on trip advisor and more than 50% of your reviews are extremely critical reviews so unlike what you say, you seem to give quite a lot of bad reviews; but if they are as truthful as this one, then I feel sorry for the other establishments. The lies you have printed are for everybody to witness. On BOOKING.com, you can see all facilities listed in the Adrar room (and I invite anybody to check it as we did, fearing a mistake with the personnel of that website, only to confirm that you are misleading other travelers with your review.Your taxi driver was expecting you and actually drove you at the hotel. You complained about the room size but the room size is clearly specified on the booking site. So at the time of booking, you could check the room's actual size. You are claiming that we advise a TV and minibar in the room on Booking actually it never was advertised as such. Maybe you checked the other rooms and you took the cheaper one thinking they were offering the same facilities. We never changed the descriptions.Upon arrival, you were not happy about the room and the lack of TV and minibar, but nothing else and your husband was already asleep in the room. We offered your first night free of charge and a cancellation of your stay without penalty. You chose to leave the riad and we didn't charge you for the only night you spent with us.The bewildering thought is how you imagined you could get a refund on something you never actually paid, as nor BOOKING nor us have charged you anything; unless it was a pure and simple tentative to even make a profit on our back in addition to not paying anything.It is sad in this industry to have to deal with people like you, who do not seem to have any honesty at all. By the way, you forgot to pay us for the local tax for 1 night that we will have to pay on your behalf, the bottles of mineral water you requested and the airport pick up free of charge!!! « less

   Sophy R - Crete, Greece
Beautiful quiet riad in central Marrakech - Mar 27, 2019
Riad Dar Beija was lovely. A beautiful, stylishly decorated building, tucked away down a quiet alley in the old Jewish area of town. A pleasant square with cafes, restaurants and a bar and spa is only acouple of minutes away. It’s also only a couple of minutes to the souks, and the stunning Bahia Palace.The staff at the riad, Said and Najia, were delightful, and couldn’t have been more helpful. Brigitte, the owner, was easy and pleasant to communicate with by phone or email, as she wasn’t based at the riad at the time of our stay.The rooms are gorgeous, with really comfy beds, and there are various terraces and relaxed seating areas dotted around the riad. Breakfast was delicious – Moroccan pancakes, bread, preserves, honey, pastries, yoghurt, and an omelette was also offered, but we couldn’t eat everything as it was!Our stay at Riad Dar Beija was really comfortable and we felt genuinely welcome. We’d definitely stay again on a return visit to Marrakech.« less

   P B -
OK, Nothing Great - If you just want place to crash - Oct 3, 2018
Place was okay to stay, room little smaller, staff was hospitable but something about the place did not click to us.batroom sink was bad design and water splash every where. Pool was dirty, people smoking outside our room on ground floor. Hope it was just one room not rest of the rooms like this. « less

   Terry H - Stockton, California, United States
A jewel - Oct 3, 2018
We very much enjoyed staying in a riad rather than a modern hotel. The location was great; everything in the Médina was within walking distance. The riad allowed us to experience more of the local culture. The staff were welcoming and accommodating, the rooms were comfortable (although a bit too dimly lit for us), and the breakfast was sumptuous. The building is beautiful and well maintained. If you want local charm this the place.« less

   EsmeL987 - Amman, Jordan
Ultimate pamper in Marrakech - Aug 16, 2018
I recently booked 6 nights at Dar Beija but after the 3rd day extended my stay there to 12 nights. Dar Beija exudes peace, calm and tranquility, beautifully decorated rooms, the most hospitable and caring staff (especially Said) and it’s location in the Mellah is perfect - within easy walking distance to Jemaa al-Fna square and the souks. I will definitely stay here again and highly recommend anyone to choose to stay here on your next Marrakech visit.brigitte z, Owner at Riad Dar Beija, responded to this review Thank you Esme for taking the time to post this beautiful review. We are so glad we've exceeded your expectations. We'll be blessed to have you again at Dar Beija :) « less