SnowyShasta - Portland, Oregon
Beautiful environment, late breakfast - Oct 6, 2019
We loved the beauty of Dar Jameel. It's located through a door in a small alley in the midst of the medina. Once inside, you are surrounded by beautiful tilework and lovely rooms. We stayed for one night in August, and although the weather was warm, the small A/C unit in the room kept us comfortable. Note that it did drip some water, so we were happy we hadn't put any clothing right underneath it.Breakfast was served a little later than most places we've stayed, about 8:30 AM; since we had an early tour scheduled, we only had time to quickly grab something. Just be aware of the timing so you can plan your day accordingly.The location in the midst of the medina was nice, letting us take some time to explore the nearby streets,« less

   PatrickM79 - Wokingham, Berkshire
Avoid ground floor rooms at all costs - Oct 2, 2019
Tiny rooms with no outside windows creating a really stuffy atmosphere. To get any air one can open a window onto the lobby area of the Riad but then noise can be an issue and I would not have felt safe leaving window open all night. No air con although a fan provided. On the plus side rooms on the second/third floor are brilliant so as with everything in life you get what you pay for. Breakfast served on the top floor was decent enough and the very best thing about the Riad was Abed on reception. Communicated with him prior to arrival about getting there from the bus station and he sent a taxi to meet us. Also offered us a room move for our last night as they had availability. Top top man!!!« less

   Duncan S -
Very friendly, helpful staff. - Sep 24, 2019
Very friendly, helpful staff. Beautiful interior, comfortable rooms and great views from the terrace. I don't think anyone could ask for more at this great price.We booked a tour guide through them. He was a great guide, I would highly recommend him to anyone he was a friendly honest guy with a wealth of knowledge.« less

   Will K - Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Cozy and comfortable Riad in Tangier - Sep 23, 2019
I would 10/10 highly recommend Dar Jameel to anyone traveling to Tangier. The hotel was lovely, only 8 or so rooms, so you get to know the property intimately. When I arrived, the hotel had arranged a taxi to pick me up from the hotel and transported me to the hotel. The entrance is in the heart of the Medina (old, walled part of the city) and it located in a tunneled archway. When I was there, there was sewer/construction work outside, so I didn't get to adequately appreciate the entrance, but those anxieties were calmed when I opened the door (after knocking and being let in by the front desk). The atrium is stunning, with an interior courtyard opening up to the outside. The tile work on the interior was marvelous, and the staff were friendly. Everyone spoke impeccable English and were very hospitable. Since I was going to depart the next morning before breakfast service, the front desk offered me breakfast when I arrived, and it was phenomenal. Fresh squeezed orange juice, mint tea (must have), and an assortment of breads and cheeses with toppings (go for flat bread toast with goat cheese and honey). When I checked into my room after my all day tour, I was flabbergasted at how beautiful it was. I would most definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone traveling to the beautiful city of Tangier.chidambar, Owner at Dar Jameel, responded to this review Dear guest, thank you for your kind comments. We are so glad that you had rewarding experience in Dar Jameel and enjoyed both the beautiful house (=Dar Jameel in Arabic) and our hospitality. We all enjoyed hosting you and hope to see you another time should you pass through Tangier again. Happy travels! « less

   pig325 - Hong Kong, China
The worst experience in my Morocco trip - Sep 18, 2019
Actually We’ve booked 2 nights here, after first night we decided to change another hotel on the next day. First, after we checked-in, our room was on 3rd floor, and no lift in the Dar, we have 3 big heavy luggage but no staffs help us at all and we need to carry our own luggage all the way up the stairs to 3rd floor ourselves. The dar decoration is nice and also have a good rooftop with nice view but inside the building was very dark, especially our room. Even turned on all the lights is still very dark, the washroom is even more worst. When I woke up in the morning I saw water puddle on the floor, lucky that all our luggage wasn’t at that area. My family and I was totally disappointed.chidambar, Owner at Dar Jameel, responded to this review Dear guest, thank you for your review below. I am very sorry that you and your family had such an unfortunate experience. This is extremely rare for guests who visit Dar Jameel. Please see our more than 440 excellent and good reviews. According to our staff, when you arrived your taxi driver did not drop you at the parking place just outside the hotel. Apparently, he left you a few hundred meters away from the hotel. You then phoned the hotel and asked if you could be met at the place you had been dropped. Normally this would not have presented any problem and we would have been able to send somebody to meet you immediately. Unfortunately other guests were being checked in at the same time as you. When you arrived at the hotel trailing your extremely large and heavy luggage behind you understandably you were not in the best of moods and impatient to find other guests still being checked in. However the staff assure me that on arrival you were offered mint teas,as we offer all guests, and asked to wait for a few minutes and then you were indeed helped up the stairs with your luggage as all guests always are..As for the unfortunate incident with your room and entry of water, we must apologize profusely, but confirm that this was entirely beyond our control. All the buildings in the medina are connected to others and an amount of water had indeed come in from outside. This situation was remedied upon your departure.Our staff were surprised that you didn’t inform them about this problem whatsoever as we could have relocated you to other rooms. They were also surprised that after booking a tour by taxi for the day after your arrival you chose to leave on the spur of the moment without mentioning a reason. We certainly could have relocated you to other rooms and/or re-imbursed some of the cost of your room.Once again, our deepest apologies for your unfortunate experience. « less