BrummieWanderer - Birmingham, United Kingdom
Great riad; slightly off the beaten track - May 26, 2019
The Riad was pretty much the perfect find for us, a group of four friends who wanted a short break in Marrakech to soak up the atmosphere and sample plenty of food. It only has a handful of rooms, and we had three of the suites on the first floor. All were stunning rooms, beautifully preserved and full of interesting features. One had a gorgeous four poster bed, whilst another had marble double sinks and a bath. All of the rooms we stayed in had beautiful bathrooms, with deep and luxurious feeling baths. The only problem was they took a long time to fill as they were so big!The rooms, all facing onto the central courtyard, were all really spacious and with plenty of room to relax, with sofas and cushions, and to unpack clothes and belongings. Each had heavy wood shutters which made the rooms both dark and quiet at night.The Riad itself is, like the interior of the rooms, gorgeously preserved, and completely Moroccan in decor and ambience. The small pool is at the centre of the Riad and provides a lovely focal point, the water is cold but ideal to cool off after a hot day wandering the city streets. There’s also a tv room and a breakfast room if you prefer to be inside. The roof terrace is a real sun trap and has loungers, tables and chairs and a covered area when the sun gets a bit too hot. It also has lovely views towards the Atlas Mountains and over the nearby Kasbah Mosque and the famous Koutoubia.But what really makes the Riad fantastic is the staff. From the moment we arrived and were served mint tea next to the pool, we were told that the property should feel like home. And it really did. Khalid, who is the main front of house man, looked after us perfectly. He is the sort of front of house man you want - there whenever you need him, and always able to help out, whether it was printing our boarding passes or advising us on costs of cabs to the new town. The ladies who also work in the Riad, both as manager, and in the kitchen and cleaning the rooms, are so friendly and warm, the Riad really did feel like home.Breakfast is simple but tasty. Bread, jam, a different cake every day and either Moroccan pancakes or muffin-type delicacies. And of course, as much mint tea or Moroccan coffee as you like. The Riad also operates a small bar so we were able to have a beer in the evenings after a day of sightseeing whilst sitting by the pool which was a welcome addition.In terms of location, we loved it, but if you don’t want to walk or you don’t want to stay in a less touristy area, it might not be for you. The neighbourhood is the kasbah, and the kasbah mosque and famous Saadian Tombs are five minutes away. It’s also an easy walk to the Place des Ferblantiers and El Badi Palace. The Djeema al Fna is further away but easily walkable. We did it every day. It took us between 20 and 25 minutes to walk to the square, and from there, into the souks or to the Koutoubia. We walked back from Marjorelle Gardens one day, which is about 5km away but was a really pleasant walk. We really liked where the Riad was located as it gave us chance to see a different side of marrakech, away from the more touristy areas. It’s still well in the medina, and is hidden down a couple of streets not accessible by car.I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend the Riad. It was everything we wanted from our marrakech adventure, and more besides.« less

   rshane67 - Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Beautiful riad - May 16, 2019
Perfect quiet riad away from the hustle and bustle but with walking distance of jenna el fna and many other of the sights.Clean rooms, free wi-fi, the riad will cook an evening meal for if ordered the night before. Pleasant and helpful staff of 3.« less

   ahmed h - Brighton, United Kingdom
Best riad Marrakech - Apr 17, 2019
Lovely guest house and lovely team , always at our needs , we did stay a week and was absolutely fantastic.The owner Khadija was very helpful and as other staffVery decoration rooms ,space ,clean , good locationVery good riad in Marrakech« less

   ahmed h - Brighton, United Kingdom
best riad in marrakech - Dec 7, 2018
well , what can i say to explore my stay in this charming riad the booking is easy throw website , khadija make us a best deal family room very space and well decoration , breakfast is large choice , very easy location , near to all main site thanks to khadija , bouchra , saida and khalid for the great welcome will come back« less

   zorigna -
Horrible experience. - Nov 2, 2018
I really don' t know how to start on explaining in how many ways this "Riad" ruin our holiday.As first, after the booking we have tried to contact the Riad in so many way...private emails, messages through booking, even by phone to arrange our airport pick up and we never had an answer back.Once there, we rang the door for 20 minutes until a woman that didn' t expect us at all open the door and ask to show our reservation.It was cold and rainy in Marrakesh and the room was frozen cold, we asked another blanket (that never arrived ) and just the second day (after asking again)they send someone to fix the ac from cold to warm ( was a technical problems).I ve been in so many riad in the city, and not even for a second they give you the feelings other Riad give....like care for the costumers, incense or music ,they never propose us any activities, either hammam or dinner, the bath tube is not there anymore and the breakfast was boring and not even served on the terrazze and everyone was really loud since early morning...not quite at all.They just don't care at all.They have a plastic roof in the top that was really ugly and you cant find the nice atmosphere and feeling as a riad of this price should be.Anyway after 3 days we could not wait to leave we didn't know the most horrible part was yet to come :Also if in booking.c was indicated that the we already payed the Riad, they ask us to pay again in cash money because apparently they didn t receive any payment from booking and even if we showed them the booking page they shoot off the door and start to say we were thief and liars and they were calling the police .....we also asked for the police to come but after a while nobody show up and in the terrible situation we were almost missing our flight we just payed again (knowing booking will refund us in case of a double payment ).Contact k, General Manager at Riad el Noujoum, responded to this review we are not surprised by what you have written because you already have to show a bad example to the riad team and also to our customers .The 1st day of your arrival you asked if you can have a free dinner every night for 3 nights for 2 people provided to put a comment of 5 points on booking.com and tripadvisor the thing that is not accepted by the management of the riad, and you started making violent reactions for the team, every day you ask for breakfast in the room something that didn’t bother us and also to light the chimney because you don’t support air conditioning when you want to check out the room maid is following you to give you your scarf that you have forgotten in the room and you pushed him in a nasty way,, Even the hotel's customers had a share of your violent behavior,it’s was a suite next to your room there is a couple and small child you asked us to put this family outside the riad because she distrubs you, knowing that this family is quiet and very polite on the contrary it was you who speaking very loud and quarreling with your partner all the time . but the surprise was in the end you don’t want to pay the bill ,we contacted booking who explained that is not payed and you must pay the hotel directly and it is already marked in the reservation, already booking.com has sent us an email of apology for this .we had to call the police to finish this problem, because you started shouting at the reception that the riad wants to steal it and we must change the name of Marrakech by ARNAKECH the thing we didn’t accept , your partner apologized deeply until his tears came down and he asked us to understand your situation because you suffers from many problems and you are under the influence of antidepressants , and he paid his bill and he quietly part, we don’t want to put ourselves in a personal details, we hesitated to answer you but people have the right to know the truth even if it was sad.Finally, and despite what you did and what you wrote and the big difference between them, we are sorry that your stay does’t was nice even if we are not the cause . « less